Heart of the School Award winners announced

By Chicago Catholic
Sunday, May 14, 2017

The Archdiocese of Chicago’s Office for Catholic Schools announced that 18 teachers, administrators and staff members from across its 217 Catholic schools were selected as the 2017 Heart of the School Award winners. The award recognizes outstanding Catholic school employees who represent Catholic elementary and high schools across the two-county archdiocese.

2017 Heart of the School Award winners

Heart of Excellence is given to teachers who foster the highest quality of teaching and learning in their classrooms.

Kathleen Dudek Douglass, Ascension, Oak Park and Mary Stenson, Regina Dominican High School, Wilmette


Heart of Inclusion is given to teachers, staff members and administrators who foster inclusion in education by welcoming and serving all students, regardless of their socioeconomic background or the presence of defined learning needs.

Susan Kehoe, St. Catherine of Alexandria, Oak Lawn and Chiara Nease, Holy Trinity High School, 1443 W. Division St.


Heart of Enrichment recognizes school employees who excel at providing instruction and activities in one or more enrichment area (e.g. art, music, foreign language, physical education, etc.).

Kelly Lamorena, St. Hilary, 5600 N. Fairfield Ave. and Kyle Petros, St. Josaphat, 2245 N. Southport Ave.


Heart of Service recognizes individuals who provide excellent support to the school community.

Joe Accardi, St. Benedict Prep, 3900 N. Leavitt St. and Lisa Sarcinella, St. Barnabas, 10121 S. Longwood Dr.


Heart of Christ recognizes individuals who are outstanding examples of Christian service, love and compassion.

Eileen Bruno, St. Alphonsus/St. Patrick, Lemont and Daniel Zundel, Christ the King Jesuit College Prep, 5088 W. Jackson Blvd.


Heart of Innovation recipients reflect the ability to successfully serve students through adaptation and innovation.

Diniah Dean, De La Salle Institute, 3434 S. Michigan Ave. and Julie Tuten, SS. Faith, Hope and Charity, Winnetka


Heart of Leadership recipients demonstrate leadership in their school through mentoring, inspiring others and setting a clear vision.

Christine Bremner, Our Lady of the Wayside, Arlington Heights and Lily Olson, St. Gall, 5515 S. Sawyer Ave.


Heart of Connection recipients recognize that the school is part of a greater community and actively seek to build connections between the community and the school.

Jim Dippold, Cristo Rey St. Martin College Prep, Waukegan and Sharon Smogor, Carmel Catholic High School, Mundelein


Heart of the Future recognizes employees who have worked in education for three years or less and demonstrate outstanding leadership and service.

Michelle Gross, St. Cletus, La Grange and Erica Massarelli, St. Mary, Buffalo Grove


  • catholic schools
  • heart of the school
  • employee recognition

Related Articles